Ground Pork Tacos

This is a super quick dish to make after work, one of my favorites; and there is no way to screw it up!
Also, it is a great way to enjoy tacos without using the packet of sodium that comes in a taco meal kit. Those packets bother me so much; have you ever read the sodium content on them? YIKES! I can never drink enough tequila to wash the salt away. 😉

Pork Tacos
1 lb ground pork
1 large clove garlic, minced
2 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp paprika
1 tspn cumin
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup of tepid water

You’ll need a taco shell/tortilla kit, just the shells; either crunchy, soft, or both. My kids like the shell kits with both. Heat the shells/tortillas per instructions on the package.

Spices
Spices

Brown pork in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  As it heats, break up the pork with a spatula/spoon into smaller pieces.

Brown the Pork Meat
Brown the Pork Meat

Drain fat if there is any.

Add in the garlic, spices and water.  Stir together. Cover skillet.

Let simmer, stirring occassionally, until the liquid reduces; about 10 minutes. Add in S&P to taste.

Done!
Done!

Spoon mixture into tortillas or taco shells; top with Colby Jack cheese, guacamole, tomatoes, shredded lettuce or anything you like.. and enjoy!

How I like my taco. Guacamole and lettuce on top .. yup!
This night I made guacamole and topped it on my taco. YUM!

3 thoughts on “Ground Pork Tacos

  1. I love this. We only would use half the spice packet and they were still too salty. Laura likes sliced black olives on tacos. Problem is I need two cans because she snacks while she slices. 🙂

    1. It’s scary how many different companies make the seasoning packets with the salt content so high; that i can’t believe people buy them!

      lol I would, too! between my youngest and myself. we love olives too much, of all kinds.

Leave a comment